Ah, The Camellias Make The Season Better

gg0708_in-the-garden_11aI don’t think I could be happy without the Japonica variety “Debutante.” The peony pinks make me swoon! I cannot think of anything sweeter on a drab, weary, winter’s day than collecting a bouquet of double-bloom pale camellias for my favorite little vase. And, Camellias, once established, are drought hardy and evergreen plants. They take the cake with that. If you get the chance this Winter, I recommend visiting Charleston, South Carolina’s Magnolia Gardens. It is renowned for it’s camellia collection. And, take it from me, it is worth the visit. I just found this beautiful photograph, taken by my friend Peter Frank Edwards, for Garden & Gun magazine.

Leave a Reply

