A Softer Hardscape

Sorry about this leap back into Summer, but, I wanted to re-visit the July/August edition of Southern Accents magazine. Susan Stiles Dowell wrote a short story on Eyre Hall Gardens (c. 1800) on the Virginia Eastern Shore and it features these Crape Myrtles and the parterres of ancient English Boxwood (photography by Richard Felber). And, though, it is a leap back, I want to focus on the path between the plants. I am heading into a hardscape meeting this morning in a romantic style garden that I have designed and I want to show you this crushed brick path. The color and texture is so soft that I think it is very befitting to the Camellia, Lady Banks and 1800’s masonry garden wall ensemble that I have….hmmmm? The crushed brick in this photograph comes from really old material (I believe a chimney collapsed) that was on the Eyre Hall property. I really like this texture. Here, in Charleston, South Carolina, we also have the option of crushed oyster shells for a softer paver since they are soooo indigenous (the oyster roast is our Winter tradition). And, ultimately, so is antique brick. I think I just love the reddish color and sunset, misty quality of the brick. Well, I’ll let you know what we decide later….and, of course, there will be photos down the road, as well.

2 thoughts on “A Softer Hardscape

  1. Really lovely photos & enjoy learning about these public gardens. I visited Frank Cabot’s garden in Quebec (Quatre Vents) a number of years ago – he had a small driveway that was made from oyster shells from his various parties. The crushed red brick is stunning.

  2. Hello, Barbarape…Yes, it is sooo great to visit public gardens (when you think of a private garden’s landscaping cost estimate and extrapolate that figure into the vastness of some of the public ones, wow, you know the small figure we pay for entrance is going to great use). I have not been to Frank Cabot’s but I am off now to the website.

Leave a Reply

